Breaking Toys: Droid X Self-Destructs If You Try To Mod It…

Slashdot Your Rights Online Story | Droid X Self-Destructs If You Try To Mod.

http://www.mobilecrunch.com/2010/07/14/droid-x-actually-self-destructs-if-you-try-to-mod-it/

Wow.  I hate to think it is the precursor to future “protection.”

I can understand that a company is protecting their intellectual property. I don’t get that once it goes out the door and the customer buys it… they can’t do anything the customer wants with it.  There is a difference between ripping off the company with a cheap knock-off and modifying so a person can use the item. You bought it. You own it.

I purchased the Pandigital Novel (available now at Bed Bath & Beyond..)  Not a bad item, but the built-in software is meh.  People are looking to ‘fix’ it so they can make it work smoother.

Is it bad for Pandigital? Not really, I think. I willingly bought the item (no duress) and look forward to making it work better.  I will show my gadget friends how easy it was to fix and actually use it. Who knows? They might buy one to play with… or Pandigital might fix it…

I don’t believe in using modifying for illegal software, or risk messing with the data plans or whatever; just making it work better.

My opinion; make a good product. Don’t punish the consumer for buying your nasty or latest/greatest and get pissy when someone peels back the label and sees behind the curtain.  If so, don’t get miffed when the consumer votes with their wallet.

Good luck with the newest Droid; I got another year or so of contract.

By roscoer

Leave a Reply

